OVERVIEW

The English curriculum is designed to reinforce and develop a student’s ability to think, read, write, and speak. Students explore connections between literature and the human experience, learning to consider increasingly complex questions through the analysis of a great variety of texts that range from the canonical to the contemporary.

Read More → 

2MSABANNER.jpg
 

map out your path through english


english department highlights

msainfoblocks.jpg

The Art of Public Speaking

Learn more about how MSA students become confident and comfortable orators.

msainfoblocks.jpg

All the World is a Stage

Find out how Shakespeare helps students understand politics, love, and the human condition.

msainfoblocks.jpg

Be a Writing Maverick

Take the fear and anxiety out of writing using MSA’s in-house manual and tutoring program.


meet the department

  Jay Kauffmann   English Department Chair  ✉︎ jkauffmann@millerschool.org ☏ 434-823-4805, ext. 209

Jay Kauffmann
English Department Chair
✉︎ jkauffmann@millerschool.org
☏ 434-823-4805, ext. 209

  Devin Barczewski   English 11 & AP Language & Composition  ✉︎ dbarczewski@millerschool.org ☏ 434-823-4805

Devin Barczewski
English 11 & AP Language & Composition
✉︎ dbarczewski@millerschool.org
☏ 434-823-4805

  Christoper Campanelli   English   ✉︎ ccampanelli@millerschool.org ☏ 434-823-4805

Christoper Campanelli
English
✉︎ ccampanelli@millerschool.org
☏ 434-823-4805

  Jason Nabi   Director of Academics & English  ✉︎ jnabi@millerschool.org ☏ 434-823-4805, ext. 236

Jason Nabi
Director of Academics & English
✉︎ jnabi@millerschool.org
☏ 434-823-4805, ext. 236

  Dana Ainsworth   English   ✉︎ dainsworth@millerschool.org ☏ 434-823-4805, ext. 216

Dana Ainsworth
English
✉︎ dainsworth@millerschool.org
☏ 434-823-4805, ext. 216

  Peter Hufnagel   Dean, Director of Innovation & Marketing  ✉︎ phufnagel@millerschool.org ☏ 434-823-4805, ext. 299

Peter Hufnagel
Dean, Director of Innovation & Marketing
✉︎ phufnagel@millerschool.org
☏ 434-823-4805, ext. 299