Home » Academics » Spring Honors 2015


Spring Honors 2015


KKW_3943sAs it is each year, Spring Honors was by far the most enjoyable day of the school year. With students performing, exhibiting their work, and displaying their projects, it was indeed a wonderful morning. We would like to congratulate all those who participated by entering artwork, photography, poetry, fiction, science projects, humanities research papers, literary analysis papers, woodworking projects, performed musically, recited, participated in the spelling bee, or the game of jeopardy, or even insulted each other with the words of Shakespeare; every moment was a memorable one. Special congratulations to all the winners!

Thank you also to the many teachers and staff that put in extra time and talents to make sure this was a special day for all involved, your efforts are tireless and much appreciated.

Many thanks to our judges, Mary Alice (Music), S. Ross Browne (Art), Pam Carmagnola (Music), Chris DeBaun (Photography), Dr. Russell Grieger (Poetry/Fiction), Annie Knepper (Literary Analysis), Russell Leary (Humanities Research), who were invited from outside the MSA community, thank you for your time, and talented consideration, we hope that you also enjoyed your time spent with us.

If you would like to view a repeat performance, you can see it again at our High School Cube link.

You can also find photos from the day on our Smug Mug site here.

Below is the list of this year’s Spring Honors winners:

*Solo Musical Performance:    Sharon Xu    “Early Spring of the Iceberg” (Shang’e Fan)

*Duet Musical Performance:    Piper Hawley-Hayes & Aidan McDaniel        “Somebody That I Used to Know” (Gotye)

*Group Musical Performance:    Hayden Blom, Jack Bruns, Adrian Lewin, and Kewei Li        “Yellow” (Coldpay)

*Jeopardy! Game:    12th Grade won

*Slowest Roller Coaster Science Challenge:    Group 4 – Cathy Li, Grace Tian,  Rebecca Zhao

*Spelling Bee:
    1st Place, Maria Nimo
    2nd Place, Taylor Parsons

    1st Place – Adian McDaniel
    2nd Place – Madison Murphy
    3rd Place – Marta Regn

    1st Place – Caleb McGowen
    2nd Place – Madison Murphy
    3rd Place – Adian McDaniel

*Literary Analysis:
    1st Place – Chris Breving
    2nd Place – Jonathan Peterson
    3rd Place – Racheal Breveing

*Humanities Research:
    1st – Chris Breving
    2nd – Alex Chan
    3rd – Jacob Gavin
    Honorable Mentions: Lilly Nichols, Carrson Atkins

    1st – Lexi Mallory
    2nd – Jonathan Peterson
    3rd – Jasmine Johnson
    Honorable Mentions: Torian Mylott (2), Cathy Li, Will Wagner

    1st – XiaoXiao Ma
    2nd – Crystal Zang
    3rd – Rachael Breving
    Honorable Mentions: James Harris, Jack Williams, Will Bickers, Marta Regn

    Best Craftsman – Steele Henley
    Service Awards – James Semerling, Patrick Cogan, Brian Purdy





No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.